velvetpage: (Default)
[personal profile] velvetpage
The Spa is called Pure NV (get it? it took me a few minutes the first time I saw it.) I got there early, so I walked to a convenience store and bought a pack of gum. By the time I got back, it was time to start.

They took me upstairs, gave me a locker and asked me to change into a robe. Then I had the facial. I chose a sandalwood scent, very earthy and spicy. I don't think I've ever been so relaxed. Then there came the massage, which included a head massage with oils. If you think having someone else wash your hair is a sensual experience, then a head massage would be your cup of tea. I do think that, and it was wonderful. However, it left my hair a disgusting mess, so immediately after that came the salon.

Back downstairs, and dressed again, I had my hair washed, then cut to look like the picture on the front of the magazine I'd bought - a bit longer, no highlights or colouring, just the cut and style. It looks really good, too. It's an effect I've been trying for for a while, but never quite achieved before now. I might find the time and money to go back there the next time I need it cut. Haircrafters just doesn't look like this! Anyway, she left the bangs longer, which is the style, and told me to apply a bit of wax to them to make them stay off to one side. She also cut them thicker than I've had recently, because wispy bangs and thin hair don't work together. I do have lots of hair, though, so even if it's thin I can get away with cutting it in layers. I haven't had this much volume in my hair in years.

After that I went back upstairs, had lunch (which was ordered in from a nearby Italian restaurant - Cannelonni, Caesar salad, and a bun which was the best part), and had my manicure. I chose the colour to complement the burgundy top I was wearing, because it goes well with most of my fall wardrobe. My fingers feel heavy, but the nails are nice and short so I can still play the piano without having them break (always my biggest issue with manicures.)

The pedicure was sheer bliss, and the polish looks even better on my toes - which is good, because it will last longer there. There was a bridal party in for pedicures and manicures, and I knew two of them by sight from university - they were in French classes with me. We compared notes over which professors were fun, which were not, and which were just weird. That covered most of the department. Unfortunately, none of the French profs were young or hot enough that anyone took their courses for the eye candy. Pity. (There was a history prof though. . . ) But I digress.

I left a $20 bill to be split three ways as a tip, and I hope that was reasonable, because I couldn't afford any more. Any thoughts on acceptable tips for spa services?

That was my day. I'm telling you, guys, get your mothers/sisters/wives/girlfriends a spa day as a gift. They'll be eating out of your hand for at least as long as the manicure lasts.

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-27 12:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pyat.livejournal.com
I look forward to seeing the results. :)

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-27 01:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] anidada.livejournal.com
That sounds fabulous! I'm afraid I'm no good re: tips -- I'm awful at giving them, and I haven't the faintest idea what's acceptable, particularly when you didn't pay for the thing yourself... but in any event, the key for these folks is repeat business, so if you go back to have your hair done again, that's more of a testament to their work than anything else. :)

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-27 01:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jadecat.livejournal.com
I'm showing my beau this as soon as I can. :)

Sounds like you had a wonderful day, and I am envious!

(no subject)

Date: 2004-08-27 04:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velvetpage.livejournal.com
My mother-in-law has already suggested that this would make a great group birthday present. I'm going to see what I can arrange for my mother, as well. Everyone should get to feel pampered once in a while.

Sounds like this was a bit of heaven!

Date: 2004-09-02 08:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lousy-timing.livejournal.com
I'm glad you enjoyed your spa day. I hope you can do it again soon, or at least spend for better haircuts. It's worth it- just before Anthrocon, I missed my haircut appointment and had someone at a cheaper place cut mine. It was all uneven and I'm still growing it out.

What I've found is that I can go a little longer between cuts with a better stylist, which offsets a bit of the extra cost. That takes away some of the guilt. Also, if you find a good salon and don't mind having a different stylist periodically, you can save money by scheduling with a newer person. Most times, their rates are set by length of time at the business. If you aren't certain you can afford the same place you went to this time, try an Aveda Concept Salon. I've never had an awful cut there, and they're almost always price structured the way I mentioned. You can find one near you here: Aveda store locator (http://www.aveda.com/stores/locator.asp)

Oh- a lot of times, Aveda Concept Salons have spas, too!

Re: Sounds like this was a bit of heaven!

Date: 2004-09-03 04:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velvetpage.livejournal.com
Actually, the spa I went to used Aveda products, so they're probably under the same umbrella company. I'll probably treat myself to a haircut and pedicure in October, just before report cards.

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags