velvetpage: (strong women)
[personal profile] velvetpage
Originally posted by [livejournal.com profile] lavenderfrost at ...WTF.
Well, there goes my good mood for the day.

NYTimes, the bastion of quality reporting, reported on the gang-rape of an 11 year-old girl in Texas  that's led to charges against 18 high-school boys so far - all well and good so far, right?  Shit like this NEEDS publicity to raise awareness. 

Only problem is, they repeated - without refutation or critical commentary - the claims that the girl brought the rape on herself because of the way she was dressed.

Choice Quotes (No cut b/c everyone needs to see this - DEAL.):

“It’s just destroyed our community,” said Sheila Harrison, 48, a hospital worker who says she knows several of the defendants. “These boys have to live with this the rest of their lives.  As opposed to the victim, who's gonna bounce back lickety-fucking-split, right?

Residents in the neighborhood where the abandoned trailer stands — known as the Quarters — said the victim had been visiting various friends there for months. They said she dressed older than her age, wearing makeup and fashions more appropriate to a woman in her 20s. She would hang out with teenage boys at a playground, some said.  TOTALLY BEGGING FOR IT.

THIS IS RAPE CULTURE, PEOPLE.

Now, what's being said and done in this community is bad enough, but the NY Times should be fucking ashamed of themselves right now.

Here's how to contact NYT: )

(no subject)

Date: 2011-03-11 08:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jadedissola.livejournal.com
CNN did an equally "spectacular" job of reporting on this story. (http://shakespearessister.blogspot.com/2011/03/more-today-in-rape-culture.html) In this video we learn that this whole thing is disturbing the boys' basketball team since they lost a couple of players. You know, because those players are caught on video raping an eleven year-old girl.

Also I learned that the eleven year-old might not be completely innocent in this since she got in the car with one of the men and she apparently posted on facebook that she's confused...

But rape culture is a silly idea invented by man-hating feminist. Right.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-03-11 10:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] amarafox.livejournal.com
What the hell, Batman. This pisses me off so much.

I hatehatehate victim blaming

(no subject)

Date: 2011-03-11 11:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pvenables.livejournal.com
There is never an excuse for rape. No girl or woman, no matter what her actions, should have sex forced on her by one let alone 18 others.

That is just sickening. There is no excuse.

May 2020

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags